Walk of Fame 2018 Honorees

Louise Bailey

Mrs. Bailey was a local historian and author. She penned the column “Along the Ridges” for the Hendersonville Times News for 42 years. Her lasting contribution to Henderson County was leaving a recorded history of our community for generations to come.

Georgia Bonesteel

Mrs. Bonesteel is an artist and author on quilting. She is a member of the
International Community of Quilters and host of her own television program “Lap Quilting” on North Carolina Public Television and PBS. Her lasting contribution to Henderson County was giving recognition and promoting the mountain arts and crafts.

Bert Browning-- A. S. Browning, Jr.

Mr. Browning began and ran a dairy farm known as Kalmia Dairy. He went on to become a successful builder and contractor in our community. His lasting contribution to Henderson County was his work to establish the Hendersonville Housing Authority which continues to assist those in need of housing.

Dr. Kenneth Cosgrove / Eleanor Cosgrove

Dr. Cosgrove practiced internal medicine with a specialty in heart disease for over 50 years. His lasting contribution, in addition to his medical career, included founding the first Pardee Intensive Care Facility, Four Seasons Hospice, Blue Ridge Community Health Center and Carolina Village Retirement Home.
Mrs. Cosgrove served as Director Emeritus of The Blue Ridge Community College Education Foundation. Her lasting contributions to Henderson County included raising support funds and in leading the change from the Henderson County Technical Institute to The Blue Ridge Community College.
She was also instrumental in the formation of the Henderson County League of Women Voters.

Albert Edwards

Mr. Edwards was Hendersonville's longest serving mayor from 1932-1969. During this time he led our community through the Depression and World War II. His lasting contribution to Henderson County was his active support for the building of Pardee Hospital, the construction of Interstate 26, lighting for the city, and the creation of an airport.

Grace Etheredge

Mrs. Etheredge was a local artist who taught classes and encouraged art in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Her lasting contribution to Henderson County was the founding of The Art League of Henderson County and helping to found the Opportunity House.

Frank Ewbank

Mr. Ewbank enlisted in the army in 1942 and after his military service ran a successful insurance business for many years. His lasting contribution was as a member of the Henderson County Board of Education. He also served as a founding trustee of Blue Ridge Community College which continues to educate students of Henderson County today.

Robroy Farquhar

Mr. Farquhar was a local actor, director, and member of the Professional
Actors Union in New York. His lasting contribution to Henderson County was the founding of The Flat Rock Playhouse, the State Theatre of North Carolina, which continues to train actors and entertain people today.

Josiah Johnson

Mr. Johnson dedicated his life to agriculture and truck farming. His lasting contribution to Henderson County was paving the way for future farmers to grow, sustain and market crops in our community and across the country.

Robert Morgan

Mr. Morgan is a local author who has written books of poetry, fiction, and non-fiction which have brought national attention to our community. His lasting contribution to Henderson County is through his writings depicting the southern Appalachians, the Green River area and the Blue Ridge mountains.
His literary works will influence generations to come.

Walk of Fame Sheet

• The Walk of Fame was established for the year 2016-2017. This is the second year 2017-2018
• The Walk of Fame is a joint endeavor sponsored by the City Council of Hendersonville and the Henderson County Board of Commissioners.
• The Walk of Fame Steering Committee was established to recognize outstanding contributors to the growth and development of Hendersonville and Henderson County.
• The purpose of the project is to recognize individuals who have made a significant contribution to Henderson County in any field of endeavor, e.g., agriculture, business, cultural arts, education, government, human services, industry, medicine, religion, etc.
• “Significant contribution” in this context is defined as having a positive and lasting impact on the quality of life of the citizens of Henderson County. It is hoped that all areas of endeavor will be represented; however, the Selection Committee will be charged with the responsibility of selecting honorees based primarily on the significance of the contribution.
• Honorees shall have demonstrated that they have made major investments of time, energy, expertise, or resources for the public good.
• On Sunday, May 6, 2018, this year's honorees will be honored at a banquet compliments of Carolina Village(CEO Kevin Parries). Other activities will take place, including a marker dedication TBA.
• Members of the Steering Committee include the following: Tom E. Orr, chair; Kaye Youngblood, vice-chair; Madeline Royes, secretary; Virginia Gambill, treasurer; and Ronnie Pepper. Tom Wooten (Public Works), ex-officio, non-voting.
The Steering Committee was charged with the following in 2016:
1 Determine the logistics of establishing a Walk of Fame in downtown Hendersonville.
2 Recognize outstanding contributors to the growth and development of Henderson County.
3 Identify the disciplines for which people would be recognized (for example-- agriculture, education, cultural arts, industry, government, health care, commerce and special services)
4 Establish the qualifications for recognition.
5 Determine a procedure for setting up a selection committee
6 Establish a means of recognition.
7 Identify a means of establishing sponsorships/funding mechanisms for expenses related to the project.
• The Committee will focus attention in 2018 on establishing a funding mechanism as well as finding ways to educate and enlighten residents and visitors alike to the significance of each honoree's contribuiton to Henderson County
• “The Selection Committee shall consist of the five voting members of the Steering Committee and two additional members, appointed by the chair, from the community who have demonstrated active involvement in the community and who have at least a minimal knowledge of Henderson County and Hendersonville history,” --By-laws

2017 Honorees:
• Theron Larnce Maybin
• R. Robert “Bob” Freeman
• James Mitchell Stokes
• William “Bill”McKay
• Kermit Edney
• Boyce A. Whitmire
• James Junious Pilgrim
• Francis M. “Frank” Coiner
• James Steven Brown, MD
• Clyde S. Jackson
• Ernest L. Justus
• Columbus Mills Pace
• PJ Moore, Jr., MD
• Joseph E. “Jody” Barber
• Mary Douglass Barber
• Donald J. Godehn
• Sally M. Godehn

2018 (see attached list) Class of 2018 will be announced on December 4 at the meeting of the HC Commissioners.